The Wheel of the Year: An Exploration of the Sabbats

Posted by Brandon Tomich on


The Wheel of the Year, a concept observed by many pagan and neopagan traditions, consists of eight sabbats or seasonal festivals that celebrate the changing of the seasons and the cycles of nature. In this blog post, we will embark on a journey through the sabbats, exploring their significance, history, and how they are observed by various spiritual traditions.

The Eight Sabbats: A Yearly Cycle

  1. Samhain (October 31st - November 1st)

    Samhain, often considered the pagan New Year, marks the end of the harvest season and the beginning of winter. It's a time when the veil between the living and the spirit world is believed to be at its thinnest. Traditionally, it's a time for honoring ancestors, divination, and letting go of the old to make way for the new.

  2. Yule (December 20th - 23rd)

    Yule, celebrated around the winter solstice, is a festival of light and rebirth. It marks the longest night of the year and the return of the sun's strength. Yule traditions include lighting candles, decorating evergreen trees, and exchanging gifts.

  3. Imbolc (February 1st - 2nd)

    Imbolc heralds the first signs of spring and the lengthening of days. It's associated with the Celtic goddess Brigid and is a time for purification and initiation. People often light candles and engage in acts of creativity and inspiration.

  4. Ostara (March 20th - 23rd)

    Ostara, celebrated during the spring equinox, is a time of balance when day and night are equal. It symbolizes fertility, growth, and renewal. Traditions include coloring eggs, planting seeds, and decorating with symbols of spring.

  5. Beltane (April 30th - May 1st)

    Beltane ushers in the warmer months and is a celebration of fertility and the union of the God and Goddess. It's a time for dancing around the Maypole, lighting bonfires, and reveling in the vitality of nature.

  6. Litha (June 20th - 23rd)

    Litha, also known as Midsummer or the summer solstice, is the longest day of the year. It represents the peak of the sun's power and the abundance of nature. People celebrate with bonfires, feasting, and honoring the sun.

  7. Lammas (August 1st - 2nd)

    Lammas, or Lughnasadh, is the first harvest festival. It's a time for giving thanks for the first fruits of the season and acknowledging the waning strength of the sun. Traditionally, people make and eat bread, symbolizing the harvest.

  8. Mabon (September 20th - 23rd)

    Mabon, observed during the fall equinox, represents the second harvest and the balance between light and dark. It's a time for reflection, gratitude, and preparing for the coming winter. People often create altars with fruits, nuts, and grains.

Observing the Sabbats Today

The way sabbats are observed varies among different pagan and neopagan traditions. Some may perform elaborate rituals, while others keep their celebrations simple and personal. Common practices include meditation, feasting, making altars, lighting candles, and spending time in nature. The sabbats serve as a reminder of our connection to the cycles of nature and the importance of living in harmony with the Earth.


The sabbats, collectively forming the Wheel of the Year, offer a profound way to connect with the seasons, the natural world, and the rhythms of life. Whether you practice a specific tradition or simply appreciate the changing of the seasons, the sabbats provide an opportunity for reflection, celebration, and a deeper understanding of our place in the universe.

Share this post

← Older Post Newer Post →


Leave a comment